Safe School Climate

The Farmington Board of Education approved and adopted the latest version of the revised District Bullying and Safe Schools Climate Plan Policy and Administrative Regulations. In accordance with Connecticut State Statute PA-11-232, all Farmington Public School Employees have received a copy of both of these documents.

All district employees complete a set of mandated trainings that relate to ensuring a Safe School Climate for all students. These include trainings on bullying, sexual harassment, mental health risk reduction and unconscious bias in schools.

Each school has appointed a Safe School Climate Specialist and a Safe School Climate Committee comprised of staff, administration and parent representation. If parents/guardians or students have any questions, concerns, or would like to file an official complaint they should first contact a teacher, counselor, or other certified faculty member. If the issue is not resolved at that level, then the Safe School Climate Specialist, the building Principal, should be notified.

Below is a list of the district's Safe School Climate Specialists:

Farmington High School   Mr. Russ Crist
Irving A. Robbins Middle School   Ms. Lisa Kapcinski
West Woods Upper Elementary   Dr. Katie Blore
East Farms   Ms. Jessica Szafran
Noah Wallace   Ms. Carrie Huber
Union School   Ms. Caitlin Eckler
West District   Ms. Carolyn Fink



Principals will respond promptly, listening to the concerns, and determine appropriate next steps. We take these matters seriously to support students and families.

Should the issue not be resolved at the school level, parents/ guardians or students are encouraged to contact: Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction, Kimberly Wynne (, is the District Safe School Climate Coordinator.

For bullying concerns, parents/ guardians or students are encouraged to contact: Director of Special Services, Seamus Cullinan (

To view the Policy and Administrative Regulations, click on the links below.