Equity & Inclusion in Farmington Public Schools

Welcome to the Farmington Public Schools!

We are very happy to have you join our learning community. Our schools are places where families, children, and young adults feel connected to a community that celebrates diversity as we work together to achieve our goals.

This website is a place where you can find information, resources, and new ideas that will help you learn more about how we are working to create an inclusive culture of respect, belonging, and high expectations.

FPS Community Council on Equity and Inclusion: As a next step in the district’s focus on anti-racism, social justice and equity, we will be establishing a district-wide Community Council on Equity and Inclusion for the fall of 2020. The council will include students, parents, and faculty representatives, as well as outside experts, to engage in an ongoing dialogue about dismantling systemic racism and working toward school communities with inclusion, social justice and equity goals at the center of school improvement work. Each school has an established equity-focused team, and these groups will now work in partnership with the district-level Community Council.


FEATURED READ


The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with art from a two-time Caldecott Honoree.

Equity matters. We recognize that students come to us with diverse experiences, interests, strengths, and needs. It is therefore essential that all students have access to challenging and personally meaningful curriculum and instruction. Teachers, administrators and staff are committed to the pursuit of excellence for all students, meeting them where they are, and providing resources, flexible pathways, and targeted support to remove barriers to opportunity. We believe that equity is a fundamental value of a high quality education and that diversity is an asset to our school community.


Family Support Liaison LocationEmail address
Jamella AbrahamsEast Farms Schoolabrahamsj@fpsct.org
Kristin AlvarezWest Woods Upper Elementary Schoolalvarezk@fpsct.org
Darlene BeckertUnion Schoolbeckertd@fpsct.org
Carolyn FinkWest District Schoolfinkc@fpsct.org
Lea MarcelloWest Woods Upper Elementary Schoolmarcellol@fpsct.org
Nancy NelsonNoah Wallace Schoolnelsonn@fpsct.org
Melissa RobinsonIrving A. Robbins Middle Schoolrobinsonm@fpsct.org
Chris LoomisFarmington High Schoolloomisc@fpsct.org