Honors and Awards

DISTRICT Music Honors:

In 2016, the Connecticut Arts Administrators Association presented the Farmington Public Schools music department with the Excellence in Arts Education Award at the CT State Capitol. This award celebrates the district's

dedicated music teachers, talented young musicians, comprehensive music programming in a town that embraces the arts.

The town of Farmington was selected as a Best Community for Music Education, a national award. Each school district receiving the “Best Communities” designation from NAMM scored in the 80th percentile or higher in the survey’s grading process. Participants in the survey answered detailed questions about funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities, support for the music program, and other relevant factors in their communities’ music education programs. The responses were verified with district officials and advisory organizations reviewed the data. Leslie Imse, Farmington Public Schools Department Chair states “this award celebrates the exemplary music programs in our schools, a high percentage of students who participate in the music program, outstanding music educators, dedicated parents, and supportive community!”


Carl Shugart, Irving A. Robbins strings teacher was named the 2014-2015 Teacher of the Year by the Farmington Board of Education. Mr. Shugart is the director of the Summer Suzuki String Camp in Farmington and he teaches privately at the Neighborhood School in New Haven, CT.

Thomas Johnston, FHS band director was awarded Outstanding Music Educator of the Year by the Connecticut Music Educator's Association in 2011. "Mr. J" had been the band director for over 25 years at FHS. He is beloved by his students and his alum band members meet annually at a winter party held by Mr. Johnston.

Betty Kenyon, Noah Wallace vocal music teacher, was presented with the CMEA Excellence in Elementary Education Award in 2011 for her dedication to students and the music department.

Janet Fantozzi, Union School strings teacher was named the 2004-2005 Teacher of the Year by the Farmington Board of Education. She continues to champion the Suzuki Drama and May Day at her school.

Karla McClain received her National Board Certification in Early Adolescent/Young Adulthood Music in 2013. She is the IAR choral director and also teaches at East Farms Elementary School.

Leslie Imse, FPS music department chair was named Connecticut Choral Director of the Year by ACDA in 2005, awarded Teacher of the Year in Granby, CT and the State Dept. of Education's Celebration of Excellence in Teaching Award.

Music Department Student Awards 2015-2016

The northern regional middle and high school music festivals are sponsored by the Connecticut Music Educators Association. This is a highly competitive, audition-only festival where students must practice independently after coaching with their music teachers to qualify. The audition includes collegiate level solo literature and sight-reading to assess music literacy.

West Woods Upper Elementary School, grade 6

Orchestra: Elle Lansing, Tyler Grubelich Richard Jiang, Brendon Stallaert, Elizabeth Song, Isabella O'Connor, Laura Hofmann, Ella Szczepanski, Emma Serkosky, Jessica Hua

IAR Middle School, grades 7 & 8

Band: Emily Byrne, Ashley Dummitt, Madeleine Beaule, Gabriel Gantkin, Justin Wang, Isabelle Suffredini

Chorus: Isabella Abreu, Brielle Belisle, Victoria Burt, Morgan Colletti, Audrey Lewis, Lily Mastrobattista, Jacqueline Kong, Dylan St. James, Jack Tyler, Sanmati Choudhary, Isabella Cruz, Frank Dolce, Lyndsay Fiedler, Ariadna George, Joe Harb, Aleesha Siddiqui, Carly Trider, Anika Sharma, Krithika Santhanam, Rachel Davis, Binh Minh Nyugen,Olivia Peterson, Rebecca Davis, Erin Shea, Nidhi Julakanti, Shivani Kapadia, Lyndsay Koster, Sophie-Mae Kasmar, Saadhvi Kartik, Sarah Sereosky, Aimee Sardilli, Shailesh Sreenivas, Akshitha Viswanathan, Vivek Voleti, Hadley Whitlock, Elisabeth Williams, Angelina Yu.

Orchestra: Robert Fishel, Seth Frank, Kevin Gu, Jennifer Guo, Olivia Hofmann, Sarah Holt, Richared Kang, Darren Kwee, Soonbee Kwon, Karen Ru, Angela Sadlowski, Aimee Sarkilli, Sophie Shack, Jordan Song,Felicia Wang, Natalie Wong, Lillian Yim, Jerry Zhang, Emily Byrne

Farmington High School, grades 9-12

Band: Alexander Appel, Sravya Jevisetty, Michael Nolan, Eric Wang, Emery Wegh, Katja Zoner

Chorus: Sagnik Banerjee, Shurti Bhati, Kierstan Brown, Noah Burns, Katie Byrne, Angelica Chaves, Matthew Cheng, Shannon Connolly, Caroline Cullen, Madison Curtis, Sarah Davis, Ashley Detoudom, Julie Dong, Nicholas Godlewski, Jonathan Hammond, Thomas Heath-Ringrose, Inchan Hwang, Elena Jimenez-McDermott, Ashish John, Heather Kirkness, Christian Knight, Ethan Kula, Catherine MacKay, Stephanie Mailhot, Austin Malik, Maggie McGuire, Marisa Melluzzo, Jirelle Mercado, Catherine Pecora, Hannah Phelps, Matthew Plona, Smrithi Raman, Katie Rhee, Yash Sabarad, Navva Sedigh, Pooja Swami,Francesca Trofimov, Caterina Wang, Emily Williams, Kyle Wolkner, Tristan Wong, Claire Zimmerman

Orchestra: Carolyn Bittner,Katie Byrne, Olivia Burt, Daniel Caminiti, Shayamal Datta, Dayna Deakin, Jeffrey Duan, Sasha Goldblatt, Jasmine Kabira, Eric Kang, Mark Kang, Sunny Kwon, Jack Kwon, Jared Lomangino, Daniel Lou, Katrina Mason, Rita Monahan, Navva Sedigh, Nimrita Singh, Naveerta Singh, Pooja Swami, Ashley Vogler, Haoyi Wang, Emery Wegh, Emily Williams, Nate Williams

Connecticut All-State High School Musicians

Students from across the state qualify for the All-State honors ensembles perform at the Hartford Convention Center with the best musicians in the state.

Chorus: Shruti Bhati, Katie Byrne, Shannon Connolly, Sarah Davis, Jonathan Hammond, Thomas Heath-Ringrose, Ashish John, Catherine MacKay, Katie Rhee, Navva Sedigh, Pooja Swami, Francesca Trofimov, Emily Williams, Kyle Wolkner, Tristan Wong

Orchestra: Jeff Duan, Mark Kang, Jung Kwon, Sungtaik Kwon, Jared Lomangino, Rita Monahan, Ashley Vogler, Emery Wegh

NAFME All-Nationals Honors Ensemble

Students from across the country qualify through the all-state process and perform in Nashville.

Chorus: Katie Byrne, Ashish John, Emily Williams